Friday 11 Dec. 2020
Time:
14:00 London, 15:00 Paris, 17:30 Tehran, 18:30 Kabul

  • International Conference Of War and Collective Memory (in English) in collaboration with and supported by FIDH, UKRI, GCRF and ICAN.

    Kindly Register through zoom here.

Speakers:  Dr Naji El Khatib lecturer, writer and activist, Farhad Golyardi sociologist & co-founder of the Eutopia Institute, Dr. Sayed Askar Mousavi lecturer and writer, Debbie Stothard Human rights activist & Founder of Altsean-Burma, Ilya Nuzov lawyer & Head of FIDH Eastern Europe &  Central Asia Desk, Dr. Muborak Sharif sociologist and co-founder of OPEN ASIA, Daniele Rugo Award-winning film maker and lecturer.

Discussant: Dr. Neelam Raina Associate Professor, Challenge Leader for Security, Protracted Conflict, Refugees and Displacement Global Challenges Research Fund GCRF, UKRI.

Moderator: Guissou Jahangiri, Vice President FIDH & Executive director of OPEN ASIA|Armanshahr Foundation

(SEE BIOGRAPHIES OF SPEAKERS)

SEE Curated films:

  • About a War, Daniele Rugo and Abi Weaver,  1h 24mins. A feature length documentary exploring violence and social change through the stories of ex-fighters from the Lebanese Civil War.
  • Touran Khanom, Rakhshan Banietemd & Mojtaba Mirtahmasb. 1h 31mins. “Turn Great Grief to Great Work”. Touran Mirhadi- the preeminent architect of the childhood institution in Iran – strives to follow through with her vision of “Peace needs to be cultivated at childhood”.
  • 11 000 km far from New York, Orzu Sharipov, 20mins. During the 1992-1997 civil war in Tajikistan 100 000 Tajik refugees received hospitality in war-torn Afghanistan. In November 2001 the fire of the Taliban war forced thousands of Afghans to take refuge on the islands of the Panj-river, bordering Afghanistan and Tajikistan. They hoped that Tajikistan would open its doors to them. The borders however remained closed.
Categories: News